What Are We Doing?

Internal Meetings

Internal meetings are a part of the main operations of the Stó:lō Xwexwilmexw Treaty Association (SXTA). There are several working groups and operational groups that meet monthly to discuss aspects of treaty, such as negotiations, critical path and work planning, budgets, lands, and technical information gathering and data analysis.

The SXTA member First Nations’ Chiefs and Councils meet 4-6 times per year, at SXTA workshops, over the course of 2 days, to discuss critical aspects of Treaty.

There are 6 key groups working behind the scenes to ensure that your Treaty reflects your needs.

is a tripartite (Canada, BC, SXTA) group that holds meetings every month to review Treaty Settlement Lands, different interests held by the three parties, technical review of land-related issues (such as diking, or mining) and so forth. The LTWG prepares materials for review by the LGWG
is a tripartite (Canada, BC, SXTA) group that also has representatives from the BC Treaty Commission (BCTC) and the Fraser Valley Regional District (FVRD) at the table during discussions. The purpose of these meetings is to negotiate the chapters of the Agreement/Treaty (throughout Stage 4 to Stage 6 of the BC Treaty Process). The negotiations at this table include direction to the LTWG, and feedback from the SXTA Chiefs and Councils, the Federal and Provincial Governments, BCTC, and the FVRD regarding the negotiations and objectives of the SXTA.
Critical Path: the steps that need to be taken to get us to Treaty. The goal of the Critical Path Working Group (CPWG) is to prepare for Treaty implementation. The CPWG will work back from the date treaty comes into effect to define our major milestones and needs as we plan for and manage the successful implementation of Treaty. The CPWG will make recommendations to the SXTA decision makers. One of our objectives is to define subgroups that will add detail to the development and implementation of the Critical Path Plan.
The Sub-committees are defined subgroups that will add detail to the development and implementation of the Critical Path Working Group (CPWG) plan. Sub-Committees: Land Use Planning; Governance; Community Wellness; Finance/ Administration; Human Resources The Chair of each of these groups provide updates at SXTA workshops on work that has been discussed and recommended.
meets monthly to discuss the budget requirements, work planning, and critical steps of treaty operations.
meets monthly to strategize negotiations, prepare for decision-making procedures for the SXTA Chiefs and Councils, and address any issues that are substantive to Treaty. Other meetings include the SXTA Business meetings and the SXTA AGM (which is open to the public).

The SXTT Tri-Partite Work Plan Meeting Schedule outlines the various internal meetings that will be occurring throughout the year and the goals and objectives of the SXTA for the year.

Work Plan Meeting Schedule

The Terms of Reference for the Critical Path Working Group and Sub-Committees explain the goals, objectives and more relating to each group. Click on the committee names to see these documents.

Critical Path Working Group

Finance & Administration: Chief Derek Epp – Ch’iyáqtel (Chair); Councillor Derek Hansom – Sq’ewqéyl
Councillor Dan Kelly – Leq’á:mel; Sharron Young – Sq’ewá:lxw; Staff: Amber Kostuchenko, Shana Roberts, Matt Mehaffey
Human Resources : Councillor Derek Hansom – Sq’ewqéyl (Chair); Chief Derek Epp – Ch’iyáqtel
Chief Angie Bailey – Áthélets ; Staff: Shana Roberts
Governance: Chief Terry Horne – Yeqwyeqwí:ws (Chair); Chief Mark Point – Sq’ewqéyl; Chief Angie Bailey – Áthélets; Chief Maureen Chapman – Sq’ewá:lxw;  Chief Shawn Gabriel – Leq’á:mel, Chief Derek Epp – Ch’iyáqtel; Glenda Campbell; Staff: Grand Chief Steven Point; Dave Schaepe; Jean Teillet; Abby Duncan; Karen Brady
Land Use Planning: Chief T. Horne – Yeqwyeqwí:ws (Chair); Councillor D. Schneider – Sq’ewá:lxw
Councillor Loren Muth – Ch’iyáqtel; Councillor Sandy McDonald – Leq’á:mel; Staff: Karen Brady, Shana Roberts, Dave Schaepe
Community Wellness: Chief Derek Epp (Chair) – Ch’iyáqtel; Chief Maureen Chapman – Sq’ewá:lxw;
Chief Angie Bailey – Áthélets; Councillor Nikki LaRock – Yeqwyeqwí:ws; Councillor Dawn Stryran – Leq’á:mel; Chief Mark Point – Sq’ewqéyl; Glenda Campbell; Staff: Amber Kostuchenko
Chief Negotiator: Jean Teillet

These groups meet throughout the year. If you would like details on these meetings, please contact Shana Roberts at Shana.Roberts@stolonation.bc.ca