The Stó:lō Xwexwilmexw Treaty Association was formed to negotiate a treaty for Stó:lō communities. The Treaty is for future generations and will assure our rights and our title are protected. Our Treaty is founded on the 4 pillars: Language, Culture & Heritage, Lands and Governance.

Acronyms used throughout the website

  • SXTA – Stó:lō Xwexwilmexw Treaty Association
  • BCTC – British Columbia Treaty Commission

Definitions of Halq’eméylem words used throughout the website

  • “Sqwélqwel” means the ongoing oral Stó:lō story and includes their collective and personal histories since sxwōxwiyá:m
  • “S’ólh Téméxw” means our world or our land and refers to Stó:lō traditional territory
  • “Sxwōxwiyá:m” means narratives of the distant past “when the world was out of balance, and not quite right”, and the actions of Xexá:ls “making the world right,” which describe the origins of and connections between the Stó:lō, shxwelí, Sxexó:mes and S’ólh Téméxw