• Si:yá:m Lálém (Village Governments) – Village leaders are chosen according to each Village’s laws and these governments will make decisions and laws on local matters.
  • Yewá:l Si:yá:m Lálém (National Government) – The new National Government will be made up of one appointed leader from each Village Government and will make laws on topics of national concern, such as justice, health, land and resources, education and more.
  • Átélálém (Justice Council) – The Justice Council is independent and will create a way for Stó:lō Xwexwilmexw to solve our own problems, in our own way, according to our own laws. These include conflict resolution processes and other


The National Spokesperson is the political leader and voice of the Stó:lō Xwexwilmexw and is selected at least every four years by the members of the National Government.


The Ombudsperson is an independent officer who receives, investigates and responds to citizen’s written complaints. These issues must be related to actions of government that directly impact the person with the complaint.


  • Sí:yólexwe Lálém (Elders Council) – Each Village will select one Elder from among their members to serve on the council to provide advice on cultural and other
  • Si:yó:melh Lálém (Grand Chiefs Council) – Grand Chief is an honourary appointment given to long-serving political leaders. They will provide advice on political
  • Xwelmexwó:llh Lálém (Youth Council) – The Youth Council is made up of representatives, between 14 and 21 years of age, from each Village who act as observers and